10 which brand of taco seasoning is gluten free Ideas

Contents

Below is information and knowledge on the topic which brand of taco seasoning is gluten free gather and compiled by the monanngon.net team. Along with other related topics like: What taco seasoning is gluten free, Old El Paso taco seasoning gluten free, Is Great Value Taco Seasoning gluten free, Is McCormick Mild Taco Seasoning gluten free, Ortega taco seasoning gluten free, Is Tone’s Taco Seasoning gluten free, Kroger Taco Seasoning gluten free, How to make gluten free taco seasoning.


ee Taco Seasoning Brands

Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Brands

If you’re curious which taco seasoning brands are gluten free – and which are not – you’ve come to the right place. I share what each brand says about its taco seasoning mix, and I’ve tested several brands for hidden gluten too. This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosures.

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you know gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and sometimes oats, is hidden in many products, even products that seem like they should be gluten free.

When looking at different taco seasoning mixes, many have a clean ingredient list that includes a simple blend of spices, while other taco seasoning mixes include questionable ingredients like food starch and maltodextrin. One can never be too sure if products containing such ingredients are safe for someone following a strict gluten-free diet.

I researched the leading brands’ taco seasoning mixes to determine which are gluten free and safe for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivities to consume. If there’s a taco seasoning mix I’ve left off this list, please drop me a line or leave a comment below.

Is Durkee Taco Seasoning Mix Gluten Free?

Yes, Durkee Taco Seasoning is gluten free, according to the company. Durkee says its taco seasoning is made of a “gluten-free blend of mild spices and herbs.”

Is Lawry’s Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

No, Lawry’s taco seasoning mix contains enriched wheat flour and is therefore not gluten free. Avoid.

Is McCormick Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

McCormick makes an Original Taco Seasoning Mix and a Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix.

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, I recommend only using the gluten-free-labeled taco seasoning mix because McCormick says, “If any product has a gluten free claim, the product and the manufacturing line has been validated gluten free.”

However, in a pinch, you might be tempted to purchase the Original Taco seasoning mix, after all, it doesn’t appear to contain any gluten-y ingredients. Plus, McCormick says it will “always declare” gluten containing grains – including barley, rye, oats, spelt, triticale and kamut – on its ingredient labels and that these ingredients “will never be hidden under the notations of “spices” or “natural flavors”.

Further, McCormick says, “If no ingredient statement appears on the product label, then the product is as it appears in the product name (e.g. black pepper).”

Given this information, I decided to test the Original Taco Seasoning Mix with my Nima Sensor, a portable gluten-detecting device, and found the results a bit disappointing because Nima found gluten.

Please keep in mind that, the line on the back of a Nima Sensor capsule is faint, potentially meaning Nima only found a very trace amount of gluten, which could be caused by cross contamination at the manufacturing facility.

Also keep in mind, as noted in my article about gluten-free spices, cumin sometimes triggers a “gluten found” message with Nima.

Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

Old El Paso says on its website that it makes no obligatory allergy disclosure claims on its label, noting that it does not contain any of the eight top allergens – milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts and soybeans – required to be disclosed per the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA).

The packaging is not labeled gluten free, and it contains some ingredients that are questionable – like maltodextrin and natural flavors.

I independently tested the seasoning mix with my Nima Sensor, and Nima didn’t find any hidden gluten. (A smiley face means no gluten found.)

testing old el paso taco seasoning mix to see if its gluten free

Is Ortega Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

The Ortega taco seasoning mix contains yeast extract, which is an ingredient made from spent brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of the beer-making process. It typically contains gluten.

Because the brand does not label its taco seasoning mixes as gluten free, this mix should be avoided by anyone following a gluten-free diet.

Is Pioneer Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

Yes, Pioneer makes a certified gluten-free taco seasoning mix, one of the few mixes that is certified gluten free by a third party agency (in this case, the GFCO).

However, avoid the non-GF labeled Pioneer Taco Seasoning Mix, as it clearly discloses on its label that it contains wheat.

It appears that Walmart is the only retailer that carries the gluten-free version of the Pioneer taco seasoning mix near me. Use the Pioneer Store Locator to find out if the GF version is available at a store near you or order it online.

Is Spice Island Taco Seasoning Mix Gluten Free?

Yes it is! In fact, Spice Island makes a large container of its premium taco seasoning mix, and the container is clearly labeled gluten free.

Find Spice Island Premium Taco Seasoning on Amazon – this is perfect for anyone who enjoys taco night at least once a week!

Is Trader Joe’s Taco Seasoning Mix Gluten Free?

Trader Joe’s Taco Seasoning Mix is not labeled gluten free, so there is an inherent risk that non-GF labeled products at Trader Joe’s could contain gluten. However, the mix doesn’t contain any gluten-y ingredients, and it tested a-okay when put to the Nima Sensor test.

Trader Joe's Gluten-Free Products Taco Seasoning Mix

To see other Trader Joe’s products I tested for hidden gluten, read Testing Trader Joe’s Gluten-Free Products for Hidden Gluten.

Homemade Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix

The best way to ensure your taco seasoning mix is gluten free is to make your own.

And making homemade taco seasoning mix is easy to do, as long as you purchase safe, gluten-free spices. (See my article, A Complete List of Gluten-Free Spices).

To make a homemade gluten-free taco seasoning mix, combine the following ingredients in a small bowl:

  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1/2 ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)

You can store the mixture in an airtight container (used glass spice jars) or a zip-top bag.

After you brown 1-2 lbs of ground meat, you’ll add 2-3 tablespoons of the mixture, to taste, along with 1 cup of water or chicken broth. Bring the mixture to a boil, then simmer for 5 minutes to allow all the flavors to meld together and the water or broth to cook off. Add more seasoning and/or liquid, if needed.

For an even better taco mix, add 1/2 cup of salsa to your cooked and seasoned taco meat. It elevates the flavor and makes your taco meat even more flavorful.

Additional Reading

  • A Complete List of Gluten-Free Spices
  • Eating Gluten Free at Taco Bell (Nima Tested)
  • Easy Taco Pasta Skillet with Brown Rice Pasta
  • Did Nima Sensor Go Out of Business?
  • What You Need to Know About Nima Sensor Before You Buy

Extra Information About which brand of taco seasoning is gluten free That You May Find Interested

If the information we provide above is not enough, you may find more below here.

Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Brands

Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Brands

  • Author: goodforyouglutenfree.com

  • Rating: 3⭐ (916939 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: I detail which gluten-free taco seasoning brands are really gluten free. I also tested several brands for hidden gluten, and share a recipe.

  • Matching Result: Yes, Durkee Taco Seasoning is gluten free, according to the company. Durkee says its taco seasoning is made of a “gluten-free blend of mild …

  • Intro: Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning BrandsIf you’re curious which taco seasoning brands are gluten free – and which are not – you’ve come to the right place. I share what each brand says about its taco seasoning mix, and I’ve tested several brands for hidden gluten too. This post may contain affiliate…
  • Source: https://www.goodforyouglutenfree.com/taco-seasoning-brands/

McCormick and Other Brands of Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning

McCormick and Other Brands of Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning

  • Author: celiac.com

  • Rating: 3⭐ (916939 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: We get a lot of questions about spices and seasonings, especially about brands of gluten-free taco seasoning. Even after an earlier article, numerous readers have asked us if McCormick, Old El Paso and other brands of taco seasoning are gluten-free and safe for…

  • Matching Result: Durkee Taco Seasoning is gluten free. According to the company, Durkee is made of a “gluten-free blend of mild spices and herbs.” McCormick

  • Intro: McCormick and Other Brands of Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com’s senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University. His articles, essays, poems, stories and book reviews have appeared in numerous magazines, journals, and websites, including North American Project, Antioch Review,…
  • Source: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/mccormick-and-other-brands-of-gluten-free-taco-seasoning-r5989/

Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free? What About …

Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free? What About ...

  • Author: celiac.com

  • Rating: 3⭐ (916939 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: It’s just about summer, and somehow that always means tacos to me. Sure, I like soft shell tacos, but I also love hard shell tacos. When I make hard shell tacos, I like to go with a…

  • Matching Result: No gluten ingredients and no declared allergens. Ingredients per Old El Paso web site: Chili Pepper, Maltodextrin, Salt, Onion Powder, Spice, …

  • Intro: Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free? What About Other Brands of Taco Seasoning? Easy Ground Beef Tacos (Gluten-Free) As a kid, the first tacos I ever had were far from traditional Mexican style tacos. The were much closer to the style of tacos later made famous by chains like…
  • Source: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/is-old-el-paso-taco-seasoning-gluten-free-what-about-other-brands-of-taco-seasoning-r5217/

Mccormick Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Mix – 1.25oz – Target

Mccormick Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Mix - 1.25oz - Target

  • Author: target.com

  • Rating: 3⭐ (916939 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: Read reviews and buy McCormick Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Mix – 1.25oz at Target. Choose from contactless Same Day Delivery, Drive Up and more.

  • Matching Result: McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix is certified gluten-free to deliver great taste. This taco seasoning mix contains a signature blend of natural spices …

  • Intro: McCormick Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Mix – 1.25ozCreate or manage registryAbout this itemAt a glanceGluten FreeHighlightsCertified gluten-free for those with restricted dietsIncludes all the seasonings you need to make delicious tacosJust add water and mix with cooked beef or turkeyMakes enough for about 12 taco shellsSpecificationsFeatures: No Artificial FlavorsDietary Needs:…
  • Source: https://www.target.com/p/mccormick-gluten-free-taco-seasoning-mix-1-25oz/-/A-47943146

Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten Free? – Fearless Dining

Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten Free? - Fearless Dining

  • Author: fearlessdining.com

  • Rating: 3⭐ (916939 rating)

  • Highest Rate: 5⭐

  • Lowest Rate: 2⭐

  • Sumary: Whether it’s Taco Tuesday or you are craving tacos, a popular brand of taco seasoning is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning, but is it gluten free?

  • Matching Result: Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is most likely gluten free. There is no gluten included, nor are there any declared allergens. Therefore, you can …

  • Intro: Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?Whether it’s Taco Tuesday or you are just craving tacos, you may head to the store to grab all the essentials. Corn shells are gluten free, but what about that taco seasoning? One of the most popular brands is Old El Paso Taco…
  • Source: https://www.fearlessdining.com/is-old-el-paso-taco-seasoning-gluten-free/

Frequently Asked Questions About which brand of taco seasoning is gluten free

If you have questions that need to be answered about the topic which brand of taco seasoning is gluten free, then this section may help you solve it.

Are there any gluten-free taco seasoning packets?

b>McCormick’s?taco seasoning? blend is also labeled as?gluten free?/b>, but most brands of individual spices, like those produced by McCormick, lack any certification.

Is the taco seasoning from Ortega gluten-free?

Yes, Ortega Taco Seasoning is free of gluten, dairy, and casein.

Is the original McCormick taco seasoning gluten free?

Note: There is a McCormick Taco Seasoning that is labeled gluten-free. The manufacturer provides online gluten-free information (click on allergen statement). Gluten-free information on product packaging: “This product is not labeled gluten-free.”

Does El Paso Taco Seasoning contain any gluten?

Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is b>most likely gluten free/b> since neither gluten nor any other declared allergens are present in it. As a result, you can probably use this brand to prevent a gluten disaster involving seasoning.

Is the taco seasoning from Taco Bell gluten-free?

Contains Soybean and its Derivatives, Other Gluten-Containing Grain Products, Wheat and Their Derivatives, and Other Grain Products.

Which seasoning is free of gluten?

This includes, but is not limited to: salt, pepper, garlic powder, garlic salt, ginger, bay leaves, turmeric, onion powder, nutmeg, cinnamon, paprika, coriander, basil, oregano, rosemary, marjoram, and thyme. Spices sold singularly?i.e., there’s only one ingredient in the ingredients list?should be safe.

Has gluten been added to great value taco seasoning?

The absence of eggs, msg, peanuts, artificial colors, artificial flavors, corn, gluten, soy, and artificial ingredients is required for this product. It should also be vegetarian.

What seasonings from McCormick are gluten free?

McCormick does not cloak any allergens under “natural flavors” or “spices,” and all of its single-ingredient spices are gluten-free, as are all of its extracts. If any of its products contain gluten (certain spice blends and mixes do), it will be made abundantly clear in the ingredient statement.

Is the taco seasoning at Taco Bell gluten-free?

Contains Wheat and Their Derivatives, Other Gluten-Containing Grain and Gluten-Containing Grain Products, Silicon Dioxide as an Anticaking Agent, Maltodextrin, Soybean Oil, and Malic Acid in Less Than 2% Concentration.

Is the taco seasoning packet from McCormick gluten-free?

McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix, 1.25 oz., is available at Walmart.com.

Does taco seasoning contain any gluten?

Gluten-free labels indicate that the manufacturer has tested the product and it has less than 20ppm of gluten. Cross contamination may occur during manufacturing, and if taco seasoning is produced on the same lines as other wheat or gluten ingredients, there is a chance for gluten to get into that product.

Any seasonings that contain gluten?

Although an anti-caking agent may occasionally be added to spices, it is frequently silicon dioxide, calcium silicate, or sodium aluminum silica and NOT wheat flour or wheat starch. Spices, herbs, and seeds do not contain gluten.

Share this post